OK. Have you ever heard of me? I dont think so, unless were friends in real life. Im not some poker know it all, Im not a professional, I dont even make that much money off it. Just so were clear! I work for a living. Poker is my hobby. I am trying to get good enough to be able to make lots of money from it. And I am climbing!
I didnt realize you had to be a professional to write a blog! Apparently this one chick in England thinks that. She couldnt belive it when I told her I write a blog about poker. And thats fine. No, I am not a professional poker player. And no I dont have any crazy results and no my stats are not the best and im sure theres atleast 10, or 11 people better suited to write a blog 😛

She thought I was a Pure Fucking Donk! So hey, my plan is working right?
I sat down at a 6 seater, sit n go tournament . Low stakes, right, cause that what I play. She sat a couple seats to my right and the tourney began.
Much like my last blog entries, I found myself down to about 6000 chips from 10k, you know, 15 or 20 minutes in. But this time it wasnt because I was limping in with J4suited or whatever. I wasnt opening with A8 or KT. But I saw a few flops, chased a couple of cheap draws that bricked, and missed a couple of my pocket pairs. But anyways there I was at 6000 chips. One guy already doubled up.

So im on the big blind with 76off. Two or three limpers and I check. The flop comes 457. It becomes my turn, and I bet small, but decent. Something like 600 into a 1600 pot. One caller, the small blind. The next card comes and its an 8. Ive got a straight. There were 3 diamonds on the board now, and buddy bet like 1600 into a 2800 pot. Im just estimating cause I cant remeber exactly what the blinds were, but trust me its was pretty close to these guesses.
Maybe my mistake here was calling but I wasnt very confident of my hand and his bet just threw me off, got me thinking. I was thinking he may have had 69 for some reason, for a higher straight. I know, I know, thats a bit ridiculous to think but like I said it threw me off. Plus I just took a huge bong rip so who knows where my train of thoughts went. And the flush too of course, maybe he had two diamonds and hit on the turn. He was repping something strong anyways, or trying to get a cheap river by taking over the betting. So I just called.

The river dropped another 5, hearts or something. so it was 45785, 3 diamonds, and i had 67off. The guy waited like 30 seconds, and then bet like 3 quarters of the pot. I hated that 5 as soon as I saw it. Now theres a straight higher than mine, a flush, and a full house possibly. I was disgusted. And I guess I shouldve folded considering all of that stuff but sometimes I just cant help but pay to see, What a huge cost tho, just silly. I called and he showed 88. For a full house 8’s over 5’s. Limped in with that.

So I wonder in reterospect if I hadda raised the turn or went all in would he have called? Set of 8’s with a clear straight on board? Its hard to say. But If I went all in and he called me, I wouldve been out. Instead I had like 1600 chips left. blind were still small like 200/400 or maybe 300/600. I was in trouble tho, but I still had my chair.

So I manage to double up. I think it may have been KQ suited that i went all in with and won. Ten minutes later I had 9000 chips. So this English chick that I mentioned earlier, Im watching her and shes raising and betting small on the flop. She gets called by another guy and she had like Q9offsuit or something, and the flop was A2J. So Im just observing her betting patterns. Shes not scared to throw a continuation bet on the flop. And she checks the turn and river. Pretty straight forward. She lost the hand.

Then she raises my big blind, min raise of course. I call with J8suited. The flop comes 8TA. I bet, a few hundred dollars higher than min bet, and she min raises me. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention it was a 3 spade board, I had clubs. So its a pretty easy fold here, but after watching that last hand she was in I just had a feeling. My mouse was on the fold button. “Just click it man! Theres 3 spades and an ace, throw the hand away.” But I couldnt.

So I called. The turn was another spade. sigh. But she checked after 15 seconds, and so did I. Maybe wouldve been able to steal the pot there, but I felt I was already pushing my luck in this spot.

The river is a spade, and we both checked pretty quick. She had A9 suited, clubs too. Split pot. phew!

SO then it begins. She calls me a callstation. fair enough, maybe it was a bad call on my part, but a callstation? I fold 70 percent of my hands! So I sais to her, I sais, “Look at your betting patterns, your giving me reasons not to believe you” She comes back with “whatever, youre just a donk. I can tell you dont even know how to play”

? LOL really? I dont usually get fired up but this made me a bit irritated. So I bickered with her a little, and she just kept saying I dont know the game. haha.

This one hand I had K8suited, and the flop had 2 of my diamonds on it. I was on big blind obviously. The flop was a little intimidating, even for a king high flush draw. Something like 9 Jack Ace. I had lots of chips now but so did she, we were the only two in the hand. She min bet again lol. I thought she might have had the ace here this time. I didnt want to get too crazy because I could foresee myself getting all inn’d and having to chase a bloody flush and lose to her, so I just called. The next card was a 3 or something, she min bet, i think it was 800 now. I called again, playing it safe. The river was a king. So no flush. And she checked. Hmm, chasing a flush too? Am I gonna get sandbagged if I bet here? Maybe she didnt have the ace after all. So I decided to bet. twice the min bet for 1600. She called.

She ended up mucking her hand, I guess she had the jack or something. But man, words started appearing in the chat box I had to scroll up to keep up, lol. They ended up saying stuff like ‘see, I dont know how to play, the correct play there was to checkraise her bet, raise before the flop, be aggressive.’ oh yeah..
Going on about how Im just a donk and I dont know this game, and I should quit now or whatever.
Im just sitting there thinking, youre an idiot. Yeah maybe I shouldve checkraised her or been more aggressive, but are you telling me that its standard to overplay my draw here, in this game in this particular hand? Thats what I shouldve done? Thats what I should always do? And if I dont, then I dont know the game well? LOL

Has she considered my table image? or my bluff attempts earlier? Or my observations of her? Or what I thought she was holding? What she seemed to be holding? Shes got this idea that I should be playing a certain way in every scenario with that hand and that draw against any opponent from any position. Interesting. There were a lot of factors involved and I made my decisions. Its not to say that I wouldnt have played my next flush draw way more aggressive, everything depends on everything, right? And Im always changing it up. That what is successful for me. And the proof is in the pudding right there! She said I shouldve raised her on the flop? Yeah, then what, you fold and I win your 1600 chips? Well, my way I ended up taking a pot for almost 5000. Half crippled her! I think I played it fine!

But shes just relentless, and theres something in the way she is talking, I mean, its obvious shes no rookie to poker, she seems to know the game half decent, and shes spewing out all the terminlogy and yada yada. And Im just reading her shit, and eventually in deffence I just said “Trust me, I know the game, I write a fucking poker blog!

She typed something like this :
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

She went on about how the fuck I could write a poker blog when I dont even know how to play! Donks leading the donks! lol, I thought that was a funny comment, But for real, I could tell she was just unable to listen to reason. Her next attack was about my style and how it was not effective. My response was “My style is exactly what I want you to believe it is! dont forget that!

And its true. My table image for that particular game was limp in weak, call bad calls, fold a hell of a lot and win 3 or 4 giant pots. worked like a charm.

While we’re chatting here, she keeps raisng my blinds now 3x, every time around. I kept folding. Now she starts talking about my stats. ok, ok, fair enough. My stats arent the greatest, but theres a reason for that. Well get to that after.

For now, Ill talk about the next few hands. There were three of us left. The guy between us was pretty tight but won a few uncontested pots to keep up with us. And by now my responses are like “If Im such a donk, take my chips.”

I took her for another 6000 chips shortly after that, I floped a king and I had KT or something, and I checked the flop and bet the turn when it was a Q. She must have had it, because she called the river bet too but couldnt beat my King. She was running low.

The guy between us went all in later on and she called him and took him out and so we were heads up, me and her. I had 40k she had 20k. ish.

She went all in a few times and raised my blinds a few times and eventually she had like 32000 and I was down to 28000. Blinds were 1000/2000 now.

I limped in a few times and she just goes all in, and so I fold. Well, thats one of my favorite traps. I keep limping in and shes beginning to learn that I just fold no matter what. Im sure she did it with Q3offsuit a few times. But thats the thing about this trap, its easy to lose even when you call with a good hand, Q3 could beat AQsuited and there wont be a damn thing you can do about it because were both committed to the river. And limping in with mediocre hand with the purpose of folding them to an all in, to give yourself a weak image, gets expensive, and at 1k/2k you run out pretty fast.

But I managed to get back above 30000 with a couple of nice raises. So I was the chip leader again, and when I was dealt ATsuited on the button, I limped in with the intentions of going all the way if need be. And it worked, she went all in like 21k or something and I called. She at least had A7suited, which kind of surprised me, but Im sure she was surprised to see she was dominated and called and in trouble.

There were a couple of scare-cards on the flop like 68J, but my hand held up and I won first place. I said something to her like ‘The donk wins again! something cheesy anyways. She didnt say anything. I waited a solid minute after the tourney to see if she was gonna say something but she didnt. So I left.

And then I played a game of heads up and won. Then I played another 6 man SNG tourney, and I got first place 🙂 I must be doing something right! This is a typical day!

But apparently I am not good enough to write a blog because of my stats. Well, lets analyze my stats.

p1

This is part 1.  It began in 2008.   As you can see, its horrible.  You see at the top left Is my 50 dollar deposit that I spoke about in my introduction here – https://frozenblooded.wordpress.com/  –  So I deposited, lost a bit, I was probably playing 6 dollar games with a 50 dollar bankroll!  Looks like I won a few games and climbed back up.  The large spikes indicate that I was certainly playing expensive games for a 50 dollar bankroll.  And then the spikes turn into a downward spiral, right to the bottom.   There is one jump back up, I remember thats from a tournament I played, I think I won a ticket, and I ended up getting second place for like 95 dollars or something.  Then i lost it all again and as you can see at the bottom right, I just plateaued.  Well, thats when I started learning more about poker.  you know, the “what was I doing wrong” voice.

here is part 2

p2

The bottom left continues from my plateau.  Now it starts to go up.  And BOY, let me tell you!  Needling those fucking 1 dollar games for months and months.  I was coming back from like 3 dollars.  It looks like I played an expensive couple of games at the start there after finally having some results, and I must have lost cause I ended up back at the bottom.  But then I got a little bit of discipline and as you can see started climbing.   This was when I started to read books and search everything I could and play within my bankroll.  And for the next several months to a year I continuously climb. Theres a large spike downward at the top right, its hard to say what that is, I think I had a really, really shitty month or two.  But I prevailed.  And climbed up again.

Now part 3 is a bit different.  Now I was confident.  Id been climbing out of a hole where I started at 3 bloody dollars.  Now I had hundreds.  Pretty big feat I think anyone could admit.  Id had a few books under my belt and I was into a lot of deep information about learning poker well.   I was very confident.  But I had one HUGE mistake.

p3

Playing drunk

I kept climbing for a couple of months and it was a regular habit of mine to sit here and play and drink beers.  Aggression is key right?  Well, what better thing to help aggression that a little bit of alcohol?  And by a little bit I mean a lot.  Im no rookie when it comes to drinking.  There were days Id sit here and play for 6 hours and drink 16 beers, or a whole bottle of vodka.

Mixed with my confidence, and being sick of playing low stakes, one fine day I got very drunk and played heads up all night.  I remember doing well, and for that reason I decided to take a shot.  I played 50 dollar heads up which is way past my bankroll, I only had like 300 dollars.  If you look closely, you can see the first spike on the left goes straight down, well, thats me losing.  But the next one goes straight up, almost twice as high as where I lost from.  Well, thats me winning 100 dollar heads up!  The next little scuffle is probably more like 20 dollar heads up, and I won a few, lost a few.

Im not sure if it was te same day, or the next couple days but I did it again.  Not sure how it unfolded but It was definitely 100 dollar heads up and I was definitely wasted drunk, and after the smoke cleared, you can see that spike hits rock bottom.  I am Jacks’ busted bankroll.

26-10-09_1411

One guy.  Took me for like 300 dollars.   I remember playing super aggressive like a fucking wild donk on pcp.  Id raise with KQ hed call, the flop would be TEN 64 and I just go all in and hed call me with 6Qsuited and hed win.   It was completely my fault.  He made some horrible calls but they paid off and my bluffs did not.

So in a matter of 5 or 6 days I went from climbing back from 3 dollars to a sold 300 dollar bankroll, got drunk a few times and found myself back down to 2 or 3 dollars.  All that for naught.   I woke up the next morning and I was like Oh my god, did I dream that?  Please please let me have dreamed that.  Nope, it was real.  And I was back where I started, again.

You think about quitting poker.  You think about what ifs.  You think about quitting drinking.

But after a little break, I found myself back in front of the screen.  I think I withdrew 20 dollars from another site and deposited it into my account here.  Just to give me a boost.  Its so tough coming back.  Sure I can deposit 100 dollars or whatever but something just wont let me.   I loaded my 20 and began again with like 23 dollars.   And on the graph there, thats where you see the lines start to ascend again.  And today, Im still crawling out of this damn hole that I dug, but I am way up.  I could probably add a fourth image, but you get the picture, I just wanted to address the flaws. I am playing some of the best poker I have ever played, Im getting first place like 6 of every ten games I play, and a couple second places, and things are very good.  I am playing for higher stakes and though I still drink, I do not try to pull shit like that anymore.    I even have a few beers while I play, Im not THAT bitter, but its a rule now not to play anything dangerously high staked while I am drinking.   So far so good.

This has got to be the longest post ever.  But I just wanted to justify to myself that yes, maybe my stats have giant holes in them, but one of them was from my very first deposit when I didnt know how to play beyond level 1, and the other was from a drunken mistake.   And to the chick who thought I wasnt good enough to write a blog, suck rope you fucking wanker, if you cant see the giant spikes that hit the floor on my graph, and determine they were from 5 or 6 expensive games, you are blind.   It obviously sticks out but it should not stray your eyes from seeing the lengthy climb that takes up 70 percent of the graph.   I am actually getting judged on my drunken heads up binge that lasts 6 days and goes downhill, instead of my climb that lasts a year.   And for that interpretation, she assumed I was completely a donk, unable to understand the game, let alone write about it, and in the end I took all her chips.   I just think its hilarious.

I went and looked at her stats afterwards, and it wasnt anything special.  I had her beat on all of the other statistics including, winning days to losing days ratio, in the money percentage, top 10 percent finishing percentage, etc.  Her graph was a slow incline uphill, and she was doing ok, but I think it would take a week for water to trickle down that incline, it was pretty flat.  If I never had that drunken mishap, and we put my graph on top of hers, I dont think she wouldve said a thing to me.

If youre looking at peoples stats online, the one thing you should pay attention to is, are they climbing in the long run, or are the falling.  Even if they are 10 000 dollars in the hole, if you look at that graph and see a huge steady incline, it means they are winning consistently.  How they lost ten thousand surely has some story, be it they got drunk and played 100 dollar heads up, or maybe their friend logged in and played and lost all their money.  Maybe they were awful for 3 years and now theyre good.  Just have a closer look, or else you might find your self underestimating your opponents.  And thats a fast way to lose your chips.

So whether you think I am eligible to write this blog or not, I am doing it, and I am climbing, and I am playing great poker and winning, and if I can maintain the same discipline with alcohol as I can with my bankroll management, you will see, I will become wealthy from poker one day.

I will not stop.

