Sometimes I play too fast.
I talk a lot about awareness. “Who is playing tight, who is calling all the small blinds, who likes to limp in cheap, who plays out of position, who plays shitty cards.” Be aware of that stuff. Be aware of your style of play, and how people view you, be aware of your position, and be aware of how much you have been bluffing, raising, or folding.

Many times I see KK in my hand and at that point I lose sight of most else. Doesnt matter who has how many chips, Ill take this one right to the end if thats what it takes! Doesnt matter my position, not gonna let these fuckers see a flop for cheap! Doesnt matter if Ive been loose or tight, aggressive or conservative, I have KK!
These are mistakes I make.

Im liking the idea of taking more time.

I had a game 2 days ago, late at night. I started out loose and I would raise the two limpers who just limped in. Id have JToff in pos. Just a typical raise to try and narrow the field. I did it a few times and got away with it, with some follow up bets that scored me the pots. And then I did the exact same thing when I had AKs, and someone who I identified as a chump, re-raised me! So I raised again and he called and the flop had an ace. He went all in, and loosely, I called.
AK vs AJoff. I won.

So after that, I have to consider what the people think about me. “He raised after two limpers in position, bet the flop and won the hands. He did it again, then he did it again.  And we didnt get to see his cards.  and he just did it again right now, same raise every time. This time he had AKsuited and didnt hesitate to reraise or call an all in.”
Thats a pretty mixed scenario to paint. With the appearance of loose aggressive by raising with lots of hands, but the revelation in the showdown was that I was tight aggressive, and had the cards to prove it.

So, at best I think they have to give me credit for being solid. And how I continue from this point on, will just give them more information. If I fold the next few hands, they will start to think “Ok, hes folding. He must have just had a run of good cards. He must be a tight player.”

But if I enter the very next hand with a raise, then thats a good indication of “He must be a loose player, and picked up AKs conveniently at the right lucky moment. I call bullshit” and then people will start looking me up with hands like QT and A8.

So anyways, it was getting late and everything was dark. I didnt have a lot of distractions. (I play my best with all the lights out and in silence) It was quite intense, and since I was still coming off a couple of bad days, it was a nice feeling to have the tables ‘attention, and hold a nice fat chip lead. I ended up folding the next few hands, and even let the button go right past me without entering a hand. So they must have thought I was pretty tight indeed.

But thats to my advantage. Along the way I pick up 24hearts and raise it after a limper again. Steal the button, and when the flop comes K28, I bet and take it down.

And as the end began to draw near, I had 22 on the big blind. Still had tonnes of chips. The tight chick calls, the button min raises, the small blind calls. My turn : )

I think for about 5 seconds. Natural instinct I just want to click the check button. But wait…

Natural instinct isn’t necessarily the best decision here. Maybe it is, and maybe more often than not, it is. But it deserves a second to think about.

I am pretty sure these people believe me when I put lots of chips in the pot. I have shown a lot of truthful plays this far. I might be able to make something of this! So I click the request more time button.

Its funny because you dont see many people do this unless they are facing a decision to call a bet, or fold. I think its a good weapon mid-hand when your about to make a re raise, and it shows that you are putting some serious thought into what you are doing.

So, I still have most of my normal clock ticking down, but ive pushed ‘request more time, so when the clock runs out it will automatically give me an extra 30 seconds. But I dont even run my normal clock down, I make a big raise about twice the size of the pot. I cant remember the blinds exactly, I think they were 300/600, but I just made it a real decent pot.

What was I doing? Not sure. Half of me thought I could fold them out and steal this, and the other half of me thought, I bet you I am the only one with a pocket pair here and everyone else has questionable hands. except maybe the tight chick. She probably has something here. But she only called when she entered the pot. And she was first to act.

So after the time-requesting delay, I really took the momentum out of their quick decision making. The tight girl didnt know what to do, and after about 10 seconds she called. The button raiser folded in one second. And the small blind could see that if he just called, he would be pretty close to pot committed, and therefor his decision was to go all in or fold, and after a few seconds he folded.

Well, thank the goddess of luck for this one, because the flop came A28. (Saved!) I was first to act. the tight lady had to have a strong ace. But why didn’t she reraise it or raise in the first place?
Maybe it was a trap that she backed out of because there was a raise and a reraise after her? She was fairly tight.

So i bet and she raised me, just what I wanted. Spend another few seconds thinking about what she thinks I may have. If she has AK, she may think I have AQs. She may think I have KK and might be throwing out a feeler bet to see how dangerous the waters are. My bet was a little less than half the pot.

She is tight, she may have AK. She may have even JJ or 88, But theres no way Im getting off this hand. I have her covered in chips by far. So I think, and let her think.

I made it look like I was holding AQ and after some thought I seemed to have made myself believe my hand was best here, and I reraised her all in. She snapcalled with AK and I took home a shwack of chips.

She did in fact have AKoff the whole time, and I’m gonna believe that she called with the intentions on reraising, expecting someone to raise. But a raise and a reraise makes AK look far less good.

And now, these last two opponents, I can only imagine what they are thinking. Wow, what a lucky bastard to hit that 2. Got some balls to do that with 22 in the first place, when EVERYONE has chips invested already.

Take your time. Even if its fake, even if you want to make it look like you are making a strong lay-down. Dont abuse it because people will catch on, and there’s not a lot worse than a player who takes 40 seconds to make every single decision he or she makes. But maybe 2 or 3 times in a game use the request time button at certain moments.

I did it again, because I knew it would draw suspicion. The same tourney was almost over, I had most of the last two players chips. I was in a cheap hand with 97suited and the flop was 978. I checked first and there was a bet and a call. I push the time button.

Let them think a bit. After a few seconds I bet huge, like more than the pot, more than their two stacks. First guy must have clicked call anything cause his chips went in automatically. The next guy, I guess he didnt want to get third place so he folded and it was me vs T8. My hand held up and it wasnt two hands later I won the game.

Its easy to write about, I dont do it enough, thats the problem. Note to self : Use the time button more. Think hard about what each involved player may think you have. Think about the cards youve shown in previous showdowns, and how you acted from flop to river.

And when you get away with it, get in on some positional pots with marginal hands and keep everyone guessing. Find the balance.

————-

Ok its hours and hours later.. I have new things to talk about. I woke up early this morning its my day off and I woke up at 6am. I dont even get up that early when I have to work LOL. But I had some coffee and played a few games and got some shit done around my house.

Now first of all, I usually play aggressive. Just to clear that up. Now, to say that I play loose aggressive is probably incorrect. To me, a loose aggressive player will play a way wider range than me. A loose aggressive player will raise with K8 and A7 and J9 and QT all off suit from late or early position. A super aggressive player will raise any two cards from any position. Me, I play my hands aggressively, from good position, and my range of hands is pretty flexible, though it is always within a met criteria. You know, 90% suited, always within the ability to make a straight. Sometimes It will be JJ sometimes it will be 95suited. it can be T6s, in can be 75s or 77.
it wont be T2 suited. It wont be QToff very much. It wont be 45off, or A6off or K4 suited.

Of course things change a bit if it is heads up, or late in a tourney with three people left. But for the most part, thats my aggressive game. And its really working for me. When I get cards like 87off, A5off, Ktoff, J4s, I fold. and a lot of time can go by without picking up the cards in my repertoire. When lots of time goes by, I appear pretty tight because of all the folds. Then Ill pick 64suited on the button and make a small reraise if I have to, or bet the flop like I have a set. Theres not really such a thing to me as tightening up my game a whole lot. If I were to tighten up, I wouldnt drop many of my starting hand requirements, I would just play them less aggressively, and maybe not play certain hands early-mid position and only play them in late pos. Maybe not enter so many pots with certain hands after other people raise or even call.

And its working. I wanna talk about 3 hands. You busy? The first hand was with a loose girl and a tight guy, last three at the table. Each equal stacks of about 20k. Im on big blind and Ive been aggressive most of the game. The woman calls, like every other hand, and the tight guy in small blind calls, which isnt very common. Now.. I have a read on the woman. Yes, online, she revealed a tell.

All of my bets throughout the entire tourney were unpredictable. Like I said, sometimes I have JJ, and sometimes I have 89s. But she liked to call Lots! When I bet previously, she would have already clicked auto-fold if she didnt hit the flop. It was super instant. Now if she has something, which could be a draw, theres actually a whole second or two that pass before she makes the call. Thats how I knew if she had something or not.

So they both limp to me, the tight dude and the loose chick. I have 74spades on the BB. I raised.

As every other time, the loose girl calls. As every other time, the tight guy takes about 10 seconds..
But he chooses to call.

I cant remember the raise exactly or the pot size, but Its safe to say it was a number between 3 and 4.5 times the blinds. The flop comes 729. One spade.

Now small blind, being tight as he is, I dont think he has much here. He had KK once earlier and he raised it quite large. I put him on KQ or AJ AQ AK, maybe QJs. He must know I know this! He checks.

I bet like I always do. Now the woman, she doesnt auto fold. Ok, she has something. She doesnt snap-call which means its probably not a draw. She must have the 9, and her 5 second delay was pondering a reraise. She just calls.

The tight guy folds. Shocking.

The turn comes and its a 4. Now I have 7744. The flop is 7294. She has something. And my reputation is to bet. Her reputation is to call. So I bet, and I bet big, believe me. Probably 5/8ths the pot. She goes all in and I call.

I thought she mighta had K9 but she had ace 9, and lucky for me because the river was a king. She must have had a few more chips than me because she was still here after all that. Im not sure why she didnt reraise me when I bet the flop. Maybe because like I said, sometimes I have JJ. But that notion didnt seem to stop her on the turn, and if she raised me on the flop I would have most likely folded.

As long as it’s the other people making the mistakes and not me, I’m a happy camper.

The tight guy eventually beat me but it was hard-fought.

Now the other hands both relate to my post from the other day called Follow up. We talked about having a feeling and going with your gut. Well, this actually happened to me twice today, for HUGE pots. I thought it was kind of weird because I dont generally get many feelings. Before today, I think I remember having a feeling about a specific card like, 8 months ago. And what a coincidence that it came up like a week ago!

I just won a good hand, I had JQs someone raised my big blind I called. The flop was J99 and I called his mid bets right to the river and took the hand. 2 hands later I was on the button. I look down at 23clubs. Two people have limped already, so I just call. We see a flop.

A4Q. One club. The guy on big blind bets. But you remember what I told you about the people on big blind, I named a post after it! Theres like 5 people in the hand who limped in, and he checked it and then he comes out firing at an AQ flop? I dont buy it..

One guy folds, The next guy calls. The bet wasnt much, it was more of a probe bet, but it was not minimum sized, and the pot was building nicely. I took my time.

A4Q. I have 23clubs. I need a five or runner runner clubs. I all of a sudden started to think about the last couple of hands for some reason. What was the flops texture 2 hands ago? I had JQ and the board was J99. Thats all I remember. The next hand I folded. What was it… When I thought about it, I remembered the flop was Q9 something. The river may have been another queen. The girl next to me won with Ace-ten high.

Is this reasonable to figure into my calculations? Probably not but I was doing it. There hasent been any low cards on the flop in atleast 2 or 3 hands. Its been full of jacks and queens and 9s. There hasent been an ace in a while until now. And I thought, quickly but intensely.. I bet you.. ..there will be a 5 coming.

Something told me! And being on the button helped, and the big blinds curious bet helped, and the flat call beside me helped, and the big pot and great pot odds helped. But in the end it was the answer to one question that made me do what I did.

: Why did I enter a pot with 23suited before the flop?

Was I expecting to bluff them out? No
Did I want a 3-high flush, or flush draw? It wouldnt be the worst thing in the world, but it wasnt at the top of my list. A backdoor flush would make me happier than flopping one here.
Did I want a pair of 2’s? No, trips would be awful nice tho!
Did I want a pair of threes? Same answer.
How about 2 pair? Yeah, two pair is a likely candidate for a winning hand.
Did I want a straight? Yes! bingo. 23 connecting a lower straight is about the last thing anyone would expect, anytime. I played my hand to get two pair, trips, or a straight. Thats why I played this hand, this time, from this position, against these people. And now I have A234, with a backdoor flush possibility, a low curious bet from the big blind, and a suspicious call from the guy to my right. and its to me, on the button

I raise.

You know, Im not crazy. I didnt splash the pot with half my stack. I wasnt trying to get them to fold. I didnt go all in, just a harmless raise, about 1.5 – 2x what the original bet was. If I missed it, I was gone. If I was rerasied, I was gone. I wasn’t committed. It was still early. Just taking a bit of a shot at the pot, thats all. The woman folded, the original bettor called a bit quick, and the guy beside me waited a few seconds and called.

And there it was. One of the most dazzling and beautiful 5 cards I have ever seen. Dressed all nicely in diamonds, perched up on her little half-circle bottom, with her square head standing tall and proud, looking at me slightly out of her periphery with the most subtle grin. I had my straight, and it wasnt even a club, so I officially dont have to worry about any flushes at all (including my own!) The board was 4 colors now. There was the possibility that someone had 36 for the better straight draw. You kidding me?! No WAY someone has 36 here!

A4Q5. I have 23.

Its the original bettors turn and he likes his spot so far. He bets BIG. I cant remember, but it was around 2800 into a 3200 pot. But that doesnt matter because the guy next to me goes all in. So, out of the things I have to consider, the only thing I have to worry about is the chance someone has 36, and the possibility someone having trips or 2 pair, and I could possibly lose to a full house. Everything weighs out nicely, and I make the call after a couple of seconds. The first guy must have been frustrated because he called too. He wouldve had 6 or 7 k left if he folded, but now we were all all in, and the pot was close to 25 or 30k. And he turns over KT. He needs a J for a broadway straight. The guy beside me has A5, two pair. It just got a little nervous for me as there are 8 cards that can send me packing, including 4 jacks and any ace or 5.

But this story has a happy ending ! I took it down and had a massive chip lead and I eventually won the tournament fairly easily. The guy with KT said nice hand. I said thanks.

So it is possible. I took a lot of things into consideration including, as far fetched as it sounds, what the last two or 3 flops looked like. It somehow makes sense to me that if you have just watched 5 flops and none of them had an ace on them, the odds of an ace showing up in the next flop grow greater. And the odds of the cards that have been up already grow slimmer to fall again. Of course nothing is guaranteed, but even a slight increase is more than a decrease.

If the last 2 flops had 5s on them, and I needed a five on This flop, it might look tempting, and I may even play the hand the same exact way, but I honestly believe that since the last two flops had 5’s on them, that the chances of having a five on this flop too, are significantly reduced. Does it make any sense? Maybe I am crazy..

But that was excellent, what a great feeling. My next story is the very first hand in another game I played shortly after. 6 players. We get cards. I see 33. I am first to act. Blinds are 50/100. I raise to 250.

fold. fold. dealer calls. small blind folds. Big blind calls. The flop comes JQ4 The pot is 800. The big blind bets 400. My turn.

And I take my time.
Theres no flushes. The dealer may have an ace something. The big blind is more likely to have anything from this flop. Thats the first thought that comes to mind. I couldnt possibly know anything yet, that is just the first natural thought that comes to mind. Its the average suspicion, right?

But I look at the flop. I get a bit of a feeling. Theres something about it. J. Q. 4

Then it hits me.. Theres going to be a three on this board! Im gonna hit a set.

Whether by now you think I am crazy or not 😛 looking at the flop heres what I saw: 2 high cards, 1 low card.

What is the Average 5 card board? Could you say it was two high cards, two low cards, and a medium card?
Mathematically?

A low board would have 5 low cards. 42A46
a middle board would have 5 middle cards. TJ766
a high board would be QA9TK

a mixed board would be 5K7Q4
an average board would be JK428

I know it sounds quite ridiculous but I had a feeling this would be an average flop, with there being two high cards now, and one low card, I sensed there being one more low card coming, and a medium card.

“It felt like this flop owed us one more low card to average things out a bit.”

And it was my turn, clock ticking, the pot is 1200, 400 to call, with the dealer waiting to act after me. Ok, decision made, its raise.
Fold out the dealers ace, or find out if he has something, and tell the big blind “hey! I raised this hand! You aint gonna out-draw me with this hand!” So I raise, to 1000. The dealer folds. Perfect, now I am in position. The big blind waits a bit and calls. The flop so far is JQ4. The turn comes, its a jack.

Now this is both good and bad. Its bad because it wasnt a three. And chances are I am going to lose this hand because he must have something. Even if its T9 for the draw or AK or KT, he has a lot of outs and I only have 2. Plus a 4 would counterfeit my hand and so would another Q. And not to mention, my silly analysis of the the flop being an average flop just became a mixed flop, with three high cards and only one low card.
But there is good news.

I raised before the flop, and then I reraised his bet after the flop, and now I have position. I can see what he is going to do without putting any more money in. Also, the second jack was actually quite pretty. His min bet on the flop made it a likely scenario that he was holding a jack, and my raise indicated I had atleast a Q. Now with those thoughts in mind, it would be favorable for him to check to me, having tripped his jacks and see if I keep up my aggressive betting patterns and give him an opportunity to raise me.

And thats how the story goes folks.

He checks, I wait for 6 or 7 seconds and check. And sweet as pie the river drops a 3.

This is the very first hand in the tourney.

Now he thinks his JK is better than my KQ and he is first to act. The pot was 2800. He bets 2400. Well I guess he didn’t have the Q!
I raise it to 5800 and he goes all in. I call and see his cards: J9off. I double up first hand in.

I dont know, this really happened, no bullshit! I have been taking my time today and thinking about other factors that are pretty much unheard of LOL. But it worked. I won that tournament too. Am I a donk? ..Jesus.. no.. I could be.. I dont know.. My stories are about raising with 74 on the big blind and reraising on a gutshot with 3high lol! Darth Donk. shit thats a good one. I just may change my name! No one steal it! Consider it copyrighted!

Well im not calling bets with T3off out of position or raising with J6off on the button. So I have limits!! Im like a border donk. My aggressive game stretches far enough to the edge where I can get a slight view at the imagination and habitat of a true authentic donk in its natural state.

Make a few questionable plays sometimes, guilty! But to me, being in control of the hand (by betting and raising in position) allows me to get away with what I’m doing, and get out of pots before it’s too late and get into those juicy pots with the most unexpected winning hands.

And as for the odd things I took into consideration from previous flops and such, this is not something I employ on a daily basis. They popped into my head out of nowhere, at the right time. I’ll do some more playing around..

And do not get me wrong. Ten times after those hands I was faced with decisions to bet or call gutshots, and folded, even in position. Hey, I had a hunch!

